Vaccine Injury Compensation Program
Vaccine Injury Compensation Program

What Vaccines are Covered by VICP?

  • Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTP, DTaP, Tdap, DT, Td, or TT)
  • Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)
  • Hepatitis A (HAV)
  • Hepatitis B (HBV)
  • Human papillomavirus (HPV)
  • Influenza (TIV, LAIV) [given each year during the flu season]
  • Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR, MR, M, R)
  • Meningococcal (MCV4, MPSV4)
  • Polio (OPV or IPV)
  • Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV)
  • Rotavirus (RV)
  • Varicella (VZV)
  • Any combination of the vaccines above
  • Additional vaccines may be added in the future

The National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program (VICP) was established as part of the National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act of 1986 (Public Law 99-660). The Compensation program is a no-fault program that helps to resolve vaccine injury claims and provide compensation to children and adults who are found to be injured by certain vaccines. The program has specific eligibility requirements for who may file a claim. Military beneficiaries are eligible to file a claim if they received a vaccine covered by the VICP and believe that they have been injured by this vaccine. In addition, there are general filing deadlines for claims. The general filing deadlines are:

  • For an injury, your claim must be filed within 3 years after the first symptom of the vaccine injury.
  • For a death, a claim must be filed within 2 years of the death and 4 years after the start of the first symptom of the vaccine-related injury from which the death occurred.

For more information about the VICP program and specific claim filing process please visit:

Health and Human Resources (HHS)
Health Resources and Services Administration
Division of Vaccine Injury Compensation